Main menu

The TaPRA Early Career Research Prize

The New Career Research Prize is open to anyone who falls within the AHRC definition of an early career researcher (8 years of being awarded a PhD OR 6 years of their first full time contract in a teaching /research post). The prize is awarded for a piece of research (including practice-based/applied work) that has had an appropriate form and level of circulation/dissemination (e.g., publication, research project) and has been published or launched within 24 months of the nomination date. Research which has already secured funding (in any shape or form) is eligible as long as it falls within the 24 month limit.

Current Award Holder

Kirsty Sedgman for development of work on audience research including Locating the Audience (Intellect, 2016).
The judges felt that few studies in this field are as successful as this in demonstrating the complexity of research that is able to deliver a real understanding of audience experience while maintaining a sharp critical focus. The work is already having an impact and at a time when the ‘audience experience’ is so often relegated to consumer response and metrics data, Sedgman’s work is a welcome turn to the live and lived experience of and for the people who buy the tickets.

Rachel Hann for leadership in the areas of costume and practice research
Georgina Guy for Theatre, Exhibition, and Curation: Displayed & Performed (Routledge, 2016)



Nominations are now closed.

The Prize

The Prize consists of a free conference place (membership fee, conference dinner and accommodation excluded) and a cheque for £200.

Previous Winners

Matt HargraveTheatres of Learning Disability: Good, Bad, or Plain Ugly? (Palgrave)
The judges felt that in its attempt to challenge the connotations and expectations of disability arts across communities, Theatres of Learning Disability challenges us to think and see differently, defining a new aesthetic and redressing historical misconceptions as well as potentially offering a ground-breaking contribution to the discipline. 

Royona MitraAkram Khan: Dancing New Interculturalism (Palgrave).

George Home-Cook
Theatre and Aural Attention: Stretching Ourselves (Palgrave)
Kate ElswitWatching Weimar Dance (Oxford University Press)
Anna Harpin, for her co-edited collection, Performance, Madness, Psychiatry: Isolated Acts (Palgrave) and an article in the journal Interdisciplinary Science Reviews.

Adrian Curtin for his book Avant Garde Theatre Sound: Staging Sonic Modernity (Palgrave)

Adam Alston for his work on the aesthetics and politics of audience participation.

Adam Alston for his work on the aesthetics and politics of immersive theatre.
Bryce Lease for his work on Polish and Central European Theatre.

Dominic Johnson for his extensive work on Live Art.

Vicky Angelaki, The Plays of Martin Crimp: Making Theatre Strange (Palgrave)
Patrick Duggan, Trauma/Tragedy: Symptoms of Contemporary Performance (Manchester University Press)

Laura Cull for her work in establishing Performance Philosophy through a range of publications and projects.

Dominic Johnson, Glorious Catastrophe: Jack Smith, Performance and Visual Culture (Manchester University Press)
Patrick Duggan, Trauma/Tragedy: Symptoms of Contemporary Performance (Manchester University Press)

Jenny Hughes, Performance in a Time of Terror: Critical Mimesis and the Age of Uncertainty (Manchester University Press)
Alison Jeffers, Refugees, Theatre and Crisis: Performing Global Identities (Palgrave)

Working Groups

Working Groups

About TaPRA

Quick Links