Main menu

Postgraduate Essay Prize

Current Award Holder


Hannah Greenstreet, Master’s student at Jesus College, University of Oxford, for her essay ‘“For what are we, Maureen, if we are not our stories?” Narrative dysfunction in The Walworth Farce by Enda Walsh and On Raftery’s Hill by Marina Carr’.

Professor Tompkins remarks that ‘This paper provides a novel approach to naturalism and to the work of Enda Walsh and Marina Carr via the trope of storytelling. While naturalism may seem to be well-worked over territory, this paper encourages us to re-evaluate this genre. It also produces a detailed, rewarding reading of the plays. The structure of the paper is very elegant and nuanced, helping to contribute to a good overall understanding of the contemporary relevance of these writers. This paper tells its “story” very well.’



Becca Savory Fuller, PhD candidate in Drama in the University of Exeter/NIAS joint-doctoral programme, for her essay ‘“Flash mob Mumbai”: performing a “politics of forgetting” in the semi-public spaces of globalising India’.

Professor Tompkins felt that ‘This paper analyses how we might think about understanding ‘social media performance’ in the highly-charged city context of Mumbai, a city where attempts to use social media have in the past backfired. The author situates the recent tensions of this geographical/social context well and intriguingly looks to both the potentials and the ironies raised by social media performance. The paper has relevance to contemporary performance informed by technology well beyond its exploration in Mumbai.’


Nominations are currently closed.

The Prize

The first prize is £150

  • the best essay/s to be considered for publication in Contemporary Theatre Review, RiDE (Research in Drama & Education), Studies in Theatre and Performance and Theatre, Dance and Performance Training.
  • £50 book voucher for Palgrave books from Palgrave
  • a choice of FIVE free books from Manchester University Press
  • a year’s free membership of TaPRA

Previous Winners


Claire Hampton, Brunel University for her piece on ‘#nomakeupselfies: the face of hashtag slacktivism’

Joint Runners-up

Jessica McCormack, Bristol: ‘Choreography as a Translation Process in the Verbatim/Documentary Dance-Theatre Genre’

Helen Gush, QMUL/V&A: ‘Lurking in the Shadows of the Ballroom: Things and the Archive’.

This prize is sponsored by:

macmillan education palgraveManchester-University-Press-Logo


Working Groups

Working Groups

About TaPRA

Quick Links