Main menu

TaPRA Research Prize for Editing (Essay Collections and Special Issues)

The new TaPRA Research Prize for Editing (Essay Collections and Special Issues) is intended to recognise the outstanding contribution that editing of collections and special issues can make to our discipline. The prize is awarded for collections or special issues that have been published within 24 months of the nomination date.

Current Award Holder


Maria Delgado and Joanne Tompkins for Contemporary Theatre Review: The Politics, Processes and Practices of Editing: special edition. 25:1, February 2015.
The collection notes the relative invisibility of the labour of editing, and goes a long way to bring, in the words of the sub-title, the politics, processes and practices of editing into the light. The introduction effectively maps debates and issues, arguing for editing, in all its many forms, as one of the main ways in which academic disciplines mark where they are and chart a path to the future: as one of the sub-headings has it, it is about ‘The value of editing/ [as well as] the editing of value’, and as such it is a timely and welcome contribution to ongoing debates in the discipline about the value of editing to our research culture.

Helen Nicholson and Anna Harpin for Performance and Participation: Practices, Audiences, Politics (Palgrave, 2016)
Alyson Campbell and Stephen Farrier for Queer Dramaturgies: International Perspectives On Where Performance Leads Queer (Palgrave, 2016)


Nominations are now closed.

The Prize


Previous Winners

Working Groups

Working Groups

About TaPRA

Quick Links