Main menu

TaPRA Conference 2011

TaPRA 2011 Conference was held at the University of Kingston on 7th, 8th & 9th September, 2011.


TaPRA Research Development 

The TaPRA New Career Research in Theatre/Performance Prize(Running from 2012)
This will be awarded in 2012 to a researcher who falls within the AHRC definition of an early career researcher (that is, currently: to be within 8 years of being awarded a PhD OR 6 years of their first full time contract in a teaching and/or research post), for a piece of research (including practice-based/applied research) which has been nominated by working groups and judged by a panel of judges. The Prize will consist of a free conference place (membership fee, conference dinner and accommodation excluded) and a cheque for £200. The research will have to have had an appropriate form and level of circulation/dissemination to qualify, and must have been published or launched within 24 months of the nomination date.

The David Bradby TaPRA Award for Research in International Theatre and

We are delighted to report that the inaugural winner of this new competition is Heike Roms for her work on the AHRC-funded project: “‘It was forty years ago today…’ – Locating the early history of performance art in Wales 1965-1979″.

The work was commended by the judges as follows:

‘Most original and far-reaching’

‘This project is exemplary in the level of engagement over time with a specific topic.’

‘This is a very significant research project’

In addition, Heike had very strong support from the history/historiography working group who had nominated her and who had clearly identified the strong commitment she had made to their ongoing discussions and the influence her work had had on them.

The Prize consists of a free conference place and a cheque for £200.

Many congratulations to Heike on her success. On finding out she had won the award, Heike said that she is ‘extremely honoured to have been considered for an award in honour of David Bradby, who has been such an important voice’.

The prizes will be awarded at the TaPRA 2011 conference in Kingston.

We are very grateful to all our sponsors and judges for their generous contribution to these awards.

Paul Allain
Research Development Officer




TaPRA Conference 2011: Postgraduate Bursaries

TaPRA is offering ten postgraduate bursaries for the 2011 TaPRA conference in Kingston. The bursaries cover the conference fee and a year’s membership, but not accommodation. Applicants must belong to a TaPRA Working Group, and have had a paper accepted for this year’s conference.Priority will be given to students in the final two years of their PhD, and those who have not received a previous TaPRA bursary.
Applications should include:
1. A Curriculum Vitae
2. A case for subvention (200 words)
3. Abstract for proposed paper (250 words)
4. Statement of support from supervisor or other appropriate member of HEI (e.g. Postgraduate Officer). This should be brief but indicate significance of contribution to TaPRA for student.

Applications should be sent to Professor Viv Gardner either by email ( or in hard copy to:
Professor Viv Gardner
School of Arts, Histories & Cultures
Martin Harris Centre for Music & Drama
University of Manchester
Manchester M13 2PA

Applications must arrive by 1 June 2011. Successful applicants will be informed by 8 June 2011. Applicants are advised that they should not pay their conference fee and subscription until they have heard the result of the competition. TaPRA will pay the bursary directly to the host university.


 TaPRA Conference 2011: Postgraduate Essay Competition 

The First Prize of £150 is generously donated by Routledge Journals

We are delighted to announce this year’s winners chosen from a very strong field of 18 applications.

Adam Alston (RHUL), first prize – £ 150 from Routledge, publication in Contemporary Theatre Review, free conference and membership

Geraldine Brodie (QMUL/UCL), runner up –  £50 Palgrave book vouchers + 5 free Manchester University Press books  + free conference and membership (with possible publication in Contemporary Theatre Review)

Many congratulations to both of these students.

Prizes will be awarded at the TaPRA Conference 2011 to be held at the University of Kingston.


Paul Allain (University of Kent, UK) – David Bradby (Royal Holloway, UK) – Marvin Carlson (CUNY, USA) – Joanne Tompkins (University of Queensland, Australia)


with the generous support of:


Working Groups

Working Groups

About TaPRA

Quick Links